//
you're reading...
Mass Effect

Back in Citadel space

One of the things I did after getting back my Steam client (it suffered that annoying “exits-on-its-own” bug) was to play Mass Effect 2.

Prior to that, I’ve logged in over 80 hours of gameplay (with five different characters!) in Torchlight 2 since getting it around late September or early October 2012. I think the lull in PC play due to my Steam crashing and the crapshit (yes, I meant that sort-of redundancy) that is Mechwarrior Online broke my TL2 addiction. Or maybe I missed the gameplay you only find in a good, long RPG.

It took a while to remember the moves. My keystrokes were slow and I forget you pressed “F” to hit someone with your fist (I’m a Vanguard MaleShep), and I keep forgetting squad coordination and even activating ammo powers. God, what a noob, haha.

I’ve been through this before, of course. This is my… third playthrough of my “main” Shep in ME2. I redid the game to better incorporate the Kasumi DLC (which I bought late), make its eponymous master thief truly part of my crew and not some addition after what we did past the Omega-4 Relay.

But it never seems to get old. There’s really something about Mass Effect that drew me in.

Right now, I’m listening to soundtrack from ME3. I don’t have a copy of the game yet because my HD’s full. I know, I’m missing a lot. Maybe before the year ends. It’s quite late, but I got ME2 a year or two after release, too. It was still an awesome experience that first time I finished it, and it’s still an awesome experience every time I run through the game.

After completing this run-through, I have two characters ready in ME1 for play: my first FemShep (do I save Kaidan?) and my Engineer who I’m planning to hook up with Tali in ME2.

Also, Reave is… very nice.

Yes, it feels good to be back in Citadel space.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

