//
you're reading...
Worldweaving

Midwifing a World

I’ve been trying to design a Race for a World I’m making for months, if not the past year or so. I’ve always slammed into one bloody wall or another with them.

Having nothing better to do after noche buena ended at around 1:30 a.m. today (Dec. 25, Philippine Time), I sat down and wrote several pages worth of ideas and concepts that cleared up a lot about the Ur’Kain. I believe these concepts – powers and abilities activated by a form of mental “operating system” that sounds like spirits being channeled? Oho! – have gone a long way to fleshing out the Ur’Kain for me.

They started out as just another name for an Orc-like Race and now they’re fully human but so much more, just the way i wanted to after I decided to take Krystal’s World (whose old first story is this one, which was still largely based on my “Seven Swords of Light” World) on a different direction.

Yes, I am beginning to love how this World is shaping up.

Thanks for the little notebook, my Dearest Cams. It helped a lot ^_^

See, that’s why I always make it a point to have a notebook (not the digital kind) with me. You never really know when your Muse will go into overdrive. Or maybe there’s just something with a gift notebook from your Beloved to clear the head and getting on with birthing a new World.

The planet this is set in has no name yet. Maybe I should name it after my Dearest :3

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

